RSA Production Regions

The RSA is divided into 9 provinces as illustrated in Figure 1.



Figure 1: RSA Provinces

The 9 provinces are divided into 36 grain production regions.

The regions are distributed as follows:

Region 1: Namakwaland Regions 2 to 4: Swartland Regions 5 and 6: Rûens

Regions 7 and 8: Eastern Cape

Region 9: Karoo

Region 10: Griqualand West

Region 11: Vaalharts

Regions 12 to 20: North West Regions 21 to 28: Free State Regions 29 to 33: Mpumalanga

Region 34: Gauteng Region 35: Limpopo Region 36: KwaZulu-Natal

Refer to the Crop Production Regions map on page 12.

The production regions from which sorghum samples have been received for the crop quality survey of the 2022/23 production season, are named and described on page 19. All the silo/intake stands as well as the type of storage structure, situated in a particular region, are provided.