RSA Production Regions

The RSA is divided into 9 provinces as illustrated in Figure 1.

North West

Free State

KwaZulu-Natal

Northern Cape

Eastern Cape

Western Cape

Legend

Frencheid Bondarire

Figure 1: RSA Provinces

Provincial map with gratitude to SIQ.

The 9 provinces are divided into 36 grain production regions.

The regions are distributed as follows:

Region 1: Namakwaland Regions 2 to 4: Swartland Regions 5 and 6: Rûens

Regions 7 and 8: Eastern Cape

Region 9: Karoo

Region 10: Griqualand West

Region 11: Vaalharts

Regions 12 to 20: North West Regions 21 to 28: Free State Regions 29 to 33: Mpumalanga

Region 34: Gauteng Region 35: Limpopo Region 36: KwaZulu-Natal

Please see the Crop Production Regions map on the next page.

The production regions from which soybeans have been received for the crop quality survey of the 2020/21 production season, are named and described on pages 22 to 24. All the silo/intake stands as well as the type of storage structure, situated in a particular region, are provided.