RSA Production Regions

The RSA is divided into 9 provinces as illustrated in Figure 1.

Botswana

Limpopo

Mozambique

Mpumalanga
Swazland

Free State

KwaZuliu-Natal

Northern Cape

Eastern Cape

Legend
Proviced Boundaries

Figure 1: RSA Provinces

Provincial map with gratitude to SiQ.

The 9 provinces are divided into 36 grain production regions.

The regions are distributed as follows:

Region 1: Namakwaland Regions 2 and 3: Swartland

Regions 4 to 6: Rûens

Regions 7 and 8: Eastern Cape

Region 9: Karoo

Region 10: Griqualand West

Region 11: Vaalharts

Regions 12 to 20: North West Regions 21 to 28: Free State Regions 29 to 33: Mpumalanga

Region 34: Gauteng Region 35: Limpopo Region 36: KwaZulu-Natal

Please see the Crop Production Regions map on the next page.

The production regions from which wheat samples have been received for the crop quality survey of the 2014/2015 production season, are named and described on pages 24 to 27. The silo/intake stands as well as the type of storage structure are provided.