

Graph 1: Wheat production in the RSA over the last 10 seasons

South African Winter Cereal Production

Wheat is by far the biggest winter cereal crop planted in South Africa. Other winter crops produced are barley for malting purposes and canola. Summer field crops are better suited for the South African climatic conditions. Maize has the largest crop size of the different crops, followed by wheat, then soya-beans, sunflower seed, malting barley, sorghum, canola, dry beans and groundnuts.

South Africa (made up of nine provinces) is divided into 36 crop production regions with wheat planted in about 32 of these regions. These production regions are described on pages 26 to 53 (in the header of the left page) giving the specific intake silo names for each region.

The three main wheat producing provinces are Western Cape (winter rainfall), Free State (summer rainfall) and the Northern Cape (irrigation). The local production is not sufficient for domestic requirements and South Africa has to import approximately 1.5 million tons of wheat to meet its domestic consumption.

The Western Cape produced 884 000 tons of wheat this season, an increase of almost 210 000 tons compared to the 2011/2012 season, while the production in the Free State decreased with approximately 175 000 tons to 377 000 tons. These two provinces were responsible for \pm 66% of the total wheat production. The remainder of the wheat were produced in mainly the Northern Cape (289 800 tons), Limpopo (159 000 tons) and North West (114 000 tons). Figures were obtained from the Final production estimate (26 February 2013) of the Crop Estimates Committee, CEC.