## **RSA Production Regions**

The RSA is divided into 36 grain production regions.

The regions are distributed as follows: Region 1: Namakwaland Regions 2 and 3: Swartland Regions 4 to 6: Rûens Regions 7 and 8: Eastern Cape Region 9: Karoo Region 10: Griqualand West Region 11: Vaalharts Regions 12 to 20: North West Regions 21 to 28: Free State Regions 29 to 33: Mpumalanga Region 34: Gauteng Region 35: Limpopo Region 36: KwaZulu-Natal

These production regions are described on pages 13 to 20 (in the header of the quality data per region tables), providing the depot names (bin/bunkers/bags/dams) for each region. Please also see figure 1 for the different provinces.





Sunflower seed is not produced in the Southern production regions of the Western and Eastern Cape or in Kwazulu-Natal. Canola is the key oilseed crop produced in the winter rainfall area and is mainly utilized as a rotational crop. The total area under canola production nearly doubled in the past five years.