RSA Production Regions

The RSA is divided into 36 grain production regions.

The regions are distributed as follows:

Region 1: Namakwaland Regions 2 and 3: Swartland Regions 4 to 6: Rûens

Regions 7 and 8: Eastern Cape

Region 9: Karoo

Region 10: Griqualand West

Region 11: Vaalharts

Regions 12 to 20: North West Regions 21 to 28: Free State Regions 29 to 33: Mpumalanga

Region 34: Gauteng Region 35: Limpopo Region 36: KwaZulu-Natal

Please see pages 10 to 16 for the average soybean quality per region.

The contribution of the three main production regions to the total crop is as follows:

Mpumalanga, 260 000 tons (40%)

Free State, 192 500 tons, (30%) and

KwaZulu-Natal, 81 600 tons (13%).

No soybeans are planted in the Western Cape. Canola is the key oilseed crop in the winter rainfall area. The Northern and Eastern Cape will only contribute 1500 and 750 tons respectively to the total crop. These figures were obtained from the Crop Estimates Committee's Seventh Production Forecast for 2012.

Limpopo

Gauteng

North West

Mpumalanga

KwaZulu
Natal

Northern Cape

Eastern Cape

Western Cape

Figure 1: RSA Production Regions