RSA Production Regions

The Republic of South Africa is divided into 9 provinces as illustrated in Figure 1.



Figure 1: RSA Provinces

Provincial map with gratitude to SiQ.

The 9 provinces are divided into 36 grain production regions.

The regions are distributed as follows:

Region 1: Namakwaland Regions 2 and 3: Swartland Regions 4 to 6: Rûens

Regions 7 and 8: Eastern Cape

Region 9: Karoo

Region 10: Griqualand West

Region 11: Vaalharts

Regions 12 to 20: North West Regions 21 to 28: Free State Regions 29 to 33: Mpumalanga

Region 34: Gauteng Region 35: Limpopo Region 36: KwaZulu-Natal

Please see the Crop Production Regions map on the next page.

The production regions from which maize samples have been received for the crop quality survey of the 2016/2017 production season, are named and described on pages 25 to 28. The silo/intake stands as well as the type of storage structure are provided.

The mostly rain-fed maize production area is divided into four major maize production regions according to climatological characteristics:

- The Warm Western Region (western parts of the Free State and most of the North West)
- The Temperate Eastern Region (Gauteng and the central parts of the Free State)
- The Cold Eastern Region (Mpumalanga Highveld and eastern Free State)
- The KwaZulu-Natal Region (the western/upland and central/midland parts of KZN)