5. Production regions

The RSA is divided into 36 grain production regions. Regions 1 to 9 are winter rainfall areas (Western Cape), as well as the Eastern Cape and Karoo where very little commercial maize is being produced.

Region 10 is Griqualand West and region 11 Vaalharts. Region 34 falls within Gauteng, region 35 within the Limpopo Province and region 36 within KwaZulu-Natal.

The main production regions are:

- a) Regions 21 to 28 which are all within the Free State,
- b) Regions 29 to 33 in Mpumalanga,
- c) Regions 12 to 20 in the North West province.

The contribution of the three main production areas was as follows:

- a) The Free State contributed 41% of which 52% was white maize and 48% yellow maize.
- b) Mpumalanga contributed 26%. Yellow maize contributed 66% compared to the 34% of white maize.
- c) North West contributed 13% of which 74% was white maize and 26% yellow maize.

The three main production areas contributed 80% of the total maize production in the RSA.

The average yield in the Free State was 3.91 t/ha, compared to the 6.41 t/ha in Mpumalanga and 2.10 t/ha in the North West province. The average RSA yield was 4.20 t/ha.

See chart below for the different provinces and the list of Grain Production regions, Grain Handlers and silos (pages 16 - 19).

South African Provinces

