composite samples per class and grade, made up of individual deliveries to grain silos.

SAGL used the EnviroLogix QuickComb kit for bulk grain to quantitatively determine the presence of genetically modified maize.

The detection range for the Cry1Ab trait is 0.4% to 5%. 97% of the samples tested positive for Cry1Ab with values larger than 0.4% (Limit of quantification (LOQ)).

The detection range for the Cry2Ab trait is 0.5% to 5%. 27% of the samples gave values larger than the LOQ of 0.5% (positive results).

The detection range for the CP4 EPSPS trait is 0.25% to 5%. 93% of the samples tested positive for CP4 EPSPS with values larger than 0.25% (LOQ).

Values higher than 5%, the highest value of the detection range for all three traits, are reported as > 5%. This methodology has a precision coefficient of variation of 20%.

Please see page 61 for a summary of the Events and Trade names/Brands represented by these three traits.

3. Production regions

The RSA is divided into 36 grain production

regions. Regions 1 to 9 are winter rainfall areas (Western Cape), as well as the Eastern Cape and Karoo where very little commercial maize is being produced.

Region 10 is Griqualand West and region 11 Vaalharts. Region 34 falls within Gauteng, region 35 within the Limpopo Province and region 36 within KwaZulu-Natal.

The main production regions are:

a) Regions 12 to 20 which are all within the North West province,

b) Regions 21 to 28 in the Free State,

c) Regions 29 to 33 in Mpumalanga.

The contribution of the three main production areas was as follows:

a) The Free State contributed 40% of which 63% was white maize and 37% yellow maize.

b) North West contributed 22% of which 79% was white maize and 21% yellow maize.

c) Mpumalanga contributed 21%. Yellow maize contributed 64% compared to the 36% of white maize.

The three main production areas contributed 83% of the total maize production in the RSA.

See chart for the different provinces and the list of Grain Production regions, Grain Handlers and silos (pages 11 - 14).



South African Provinces