Production regions

The RSA is divided into 36 grain production regions. Regions 1 to 9 are winter rainfall areas (Western Cape), as well as the Eastern Cape and Karoo where very little commercial maize is being produced.

Region 10 is Griqualand West and region 11 Vaalharts. Regions 12 to 20 are all within the North West province.

Regions 21 to 28 are in the Free State. The Free State contributed 38 %, Mpumalanga (regions 29 to 33) contributed 23 % and the North West contributed 22 % of the total production. These contributions make up 83 % of the total maize production in the RSA.

Region 34 falls within Gauteng, region 35 within the Limpopo Province and region 36 within KwaZulu-Natal.

Sampling

All the samples tested and received from the grain storers are drawn in the following way:

With each consignment at the silos a 10 kg grading sample is drawn for grading purposes according to the Grading Regulations.

After the grading sample has been divided, 500 g of the 10 kg sample are thrown into a 50 kg bag representing a certain class and grade. When this bag is full, it is divided and a 5 kg sample according to class and grade per silo bin is sent to the SAGL.

Thirteen samples were received from the millers who receive about 15 % of the maize crop directly from the producers.

South African Provinces

