quantities recorded below the limit of detection and above the value of the reference standards used, since this falls outside the linear range of the method. The crop quality samples received by the SAGL are composite samples per class and grade, made up of individual deliveries to the silos.

The limit of detection for the MON810 methodology used is 0.15 %. The highest reference standard is 2.0 % and quantitation values can only be guaranteed up to 2.0 %. Ninety-one percent of the samples tested positive for MON810 with values larger than 0.15 % (LOD).

The limit of detection for the NK603 methodology used is 0.25 %. The highest reference standard is 1.8 % and quantitation values can only be guaranteed up to 1.8 %. Ninety percent of the samples tested positive with values larger than 0.2 % (LOD).

3. Production regions

The RSA is divided into 36 grain production regions.

Regions 1 to 9 are winter rainfall areas (Western Cape), as well as the Eastern Cape and Karoo where very little commercial maize is being produced.

Region 10 is Griqualand West and region 11

Vaalharts. Region 34 falls within Gauteng, region 35 within the Limpopo Province and region 36 within KwaZulu-Natal.

The main production regions are:

- a) Regions 12 to 20 which are all within the North West province,
- b) Regions 21 to 28 in the Free State,
- c) Regions 29 to 33 in Mpumalanga.

The contribution of the three main production areas were as follow:

a) The Free State contributed 38 % of which 59 % was white maize and 41 % yellow maize.

b) Mpumalanga contributed 24 % of which 46 % was white maize and 54 % yellow maize.

c) North West contributed 22 % of which 80 % was white maize and 20 % yellow maize.

These contributions of the three main production areas make up 83% of the total maize production in the RSA.

See chart for the different provinces and the list of Grain Production regions, Grain Handlers and silos (pages 5 - 8).

3.1 Main production regions – summary of results

The maize quality of the three main maize producing



South African Provinces